ASME CEM Student Chapter

ASME CEM is the official student chapter of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, in the College of Engineering Muttathara(CEM). Founded in 1880 as an engineering society in North America, ASME has flourished as a multidisciplinary and global organization supporting Engineers from over 150 countries. ASME ensures the growth of multidisciplinary engineering and allied sciences by conducting conferences, creating and upholding codes and standards, government relations, and other forms of outreach. Together with ASME, the College of Engineering Muttathara aims to elevate our standards, technical abilities, and knowledge to new heights through various events, workshops, and competitions as an effort to nurture young minds to operate according to the standards upheld throughout the world.


The inaugural event of the ASME CEM Student Section was held on 26th July 2022 at College of Engineering Muttathara. The ceremony started on 10:30 AM at Seminar Hall. The chief guest of the programme were Asst. Prof. Saji SS, Student Section Advisor, ASME GECBH, Ms. Anagha VR, Chair, ASME GECBH and Mr. Dev Narayan, Vice Chair, ASME GECBH. Master of ceremonies for the inaugural event was Johann Joseph Thomas, ASME CEM Technical Member.
Welcome speech was delivered by Dr. Satheesh Kumar M, HOD, Mechanical Engineering. Dr. Bejoy Abraham, Principal, CEM given the presidential address followed by preamble to the student chapter by Astin Edward Pereira, Chair, ASME CEM.
After which the inauguration was officially done by handing the ASME CEM Certification to the College by Chief Guest. Later the chief guest addressed the audience. Then an overview about the ASME was given by Asst. Prof. S Arun, Student Section Advisor, ASME CEM.
From the special invitees, Dr. C Sreekanth, HOD, Electronics and Electrical Engineering congratulated the team and given insights to ASME CEM’s future. The programme was concluded by the vote of thanks delivered by Rollwin Romal, Secretary, ASME CEM.
There were students from all departments for the inaugural event and faculties from Mechanical Department.